If you’re in a vehicle accident with a truck, chances are there are some people who are liable besides the truck driver. The liable parties can include the truck or trailer owner, individual who leased the truck, manufacturer and the shipper of cargo on the truck. According to California law, you have the right to sue all individuals responsible for the truck accident.
Statute of Limitations in a California Truck Accident
You have a limited about of time to file an injury lawsuit in Orange County if you’re injured in a truck accident. You have two years from the date of the accident to file your claim in Orange County Court. If you are only seeking property damage, statute of limitations is three years from the date of the crash. If a minor was injured in the truck accident, you have two years from the time they turn 18 years old to file a lawsuit.
How to Prove Fault in a Truck Accident Lawsuit
To prove the driver, company, shipper or manufacturer was liable for the truck accident; you must show they were negligent. Negligence means the wrongful party breached their duty to you not to cause an accident. Besides causing a truck accident the wrongful party also your injuries. These injuries and property damage requires them to pay you the amount of money you’re seeking.
You can receive damages, or money, for:
• Pain and suffering
• Additional medical bills
• Property damage
• Mental anguish
• Death of a loved one caused by the truck accident
Please note that if the wrongful party was the government, different rules apply. For instance, you must file a government claim within 180 days of the truck accident. That’s why it’s important to speak to a personal injury attorney about proving negligence with a private or government party that caused your truck accident.
Comparative negligence is often a defense the wrongful party uses to decrease the amount of money they have to pay an injured party. Comparative negligence looks at the actions of the wrongful and injured parties to compare fault or blame for the accident. If the suing party was at fault, their award decreases by a percent. This means they won’t receive the full amount of the award, but they will receive something.
To learn more information about your rights in a truck accident, contact an Orange County personal injury attorney. They’ll help you get the money you need.
TransUnion (NYSE: TRU) announced today that it has completed the acquisition of iovation, one of the most advanced providers of device-based information in the world, strengthening its leadership position in fraud and identity management.
iovation pioneered the device intelligence industry and provides a highly advanced digital device reputation consortium, with insight into nearly 5 billion unique devices from more than 35,000 leading brands across more than 50 countries. With technologies that can dynamically identify new fraud patterns as they emerge, TransUnion and iovation’s combined solutions will empower customers to quickly incorporate and adapt strategies to the fast-changing and evolving fraud landscape.
“The completion of this acquisition allows us to begin efforts to seamlessly integrate iovation’s device identity and consumer authentication capabilities into IDVisionSM, TransUnion’s suite of innovative fraud and identity solutions,” said Jim Peck, TransUnion’s president and chief executive officer. “The combination of our solutions will create an unmatched network of offline and online identities that will benefit both our business customers, and ultimately, consumers who are transacting with them.”
iovation’s extensive customer base and channel partners, including Callcredit, TransUnion’s recently completed acquisition in the U.K., will also expand the company’s footprint globally and in markets like gaming and retail.
iovation is a leading provider of fraud detection / prevention software to a wide range of industries. Their products include ClearKey two factor authentication, LaunchKey multi-factor authentication, FraudForce fraud detection & prevention and SureScore real-time machine learning analytics.
Benefits For A Disabled Child
A child who is a minor may be considered disabled, but the SSA doesn’t take into account the child’s disability when determining if they qualify for benefits as your dependent. The child’s benefits typically end at age 18 but are extended to age 19 if they are a full-time student in an elementary or high school or are disabled. For a child with a disability to earn benefits on your account after age 18, the following rules need to be met:
- The disabling condition must have started before age 22, and;
- The child needs to meet the definition of disability for adults.
Adults Disabled Before Age 22
An adult who became disabled before reaching age 22 can qualify for child’s benefits if a parent is deceased or begins getting retirement or disability benefits. We recognize this as a child’s benefit since it is paid based on a parent’s Social Security earnings record. The “adult child” must be unmarried, older than 18 and have a disabling condition that began before age 22. An adult child can be an adopted child, stepchild, grandchild, or step-grandchild.
What if the adult child never worked?
It isn’t required that the adult child has worked. Benefits are given based on the parent’s earnings.
What if the adult child is currently working?
An adult child cannot have substantial earnings. The amount of earnings that are defined as ‘substantial’ goes up every year. In 2018, substantial earnings meant working and receiving more than $1,180 a month. Certain expenses the adult child receives from work can be excluded from their earnings.
What if the adult child is already receiving SSI benefits?
An adult child who is already getting Supplemental Security Income benefits is recommended to verify if the benefits may be awarded from a parent’s earnings record. Higher benefits can be payable, and entitlement to Medicare is possible.
What if the adult child is already receiving disability benefits on his or her own record?
An adult child who’s currently getting disability benefits is still recommended to find out if benefits can be based on a parent’s earnings record. There’s potential for someone disabled since childhood to receive insured status on their own record and be entitled to increased benefits on a parent’s earnings record.
What if the parent never worked?
No benefits could be paid on the record of a parent who has never worked.
Can an application be completed online for disabled adult child’s benefits?
Currently, you are unable to apply for disabled adult child benefits online. If you want to submit an application for benefits, speak with Social Security as soon as possible by calling 1-800-772-1213 to schedule an appointment. (If you are deaf or have trouble hearing, call the TTY number 1-800-325-0778.
- Social Security Office near Fort Worth Texas
- Social Security Office near Seattle Washington
- Social Security Office near Denver Colorado
- Social Security Office near El Paso Texas
- Social Security Office near Nashville Tennesse
- Social Security Offices Near Me
If you hesitate, some potential benefits may be lost. If you can help speed up the application process by filling out an Adult Disability Report and bringing it to your appointment.