In Virginia, crimes are considered to be either a misdemeanor or a felony. One of which is a lot more severe than the other. This is the difference between a misdemeanor and a felony in Virginia.
This is the lesser of the two crimes. Those that have been convicted of a misdemeanor may face no more than twelve months of jail time. They may also have to pay a fine of $2,500 or less. There are four different classes of misdemeanor crimes in Virginia. Class 1 is considered to be the most serious misdemeanor type. It has the highest amount of jail time and the highest fine. A Class 4 misdemeanor is the least serious misdemeanor type. Those that have to serve jail time because of a misdemeanor conviction will serve their sentence in a city or county jail rather than a state prison. Examples of misdemeanors include trespassing, disorderly conduct or vandalism.
In Virginia, a felony is a serious crime. Jail time may include life sentences or even the death penalty. Fines can be at least $100,000. Sentences have to be served at a prison rather than county jail. Examples of a felony include vehicular homicide, arson or aggravated assault.
What To Do If You’ve Been Charged With A Misdemeanor Or Felony
If you have been charged with some sort of crime while you are in the state of Virginia, you need to contact an attorney. They can guide you as to what steps you need to take. Don’t talk about your case with friends or family members. Don’t post anything about your alleged crime on any of your social media pages. A Virginia criminal defense attorney will be the most beneficial person to talk to. They can help in various ways, and they can provide you with legal assistance.